RSS Feed

WIAW + goin swimmin!

Hello lovelies!

We’re already halfway through the week, can you believe it?!

I don’t have class until 2 on Wednesdays, so I appreciated the 12 hours of sleep that awaited me! (I went to bed at 1 am…which is actually kinda early compared to how late I’ve been going to sleep lately. I tend to turn into a night owl when I’m off at college.) I got up at 1 pm, and in my defense, I needed it! I felt well rested and ready for the day. And I didn’t feel like I could fall asleep in any of my classes. Success.

For breakfast?….lunch…okay, BRUNCH I had:

plain greek yogurt with cinnamon, chopped up organic fuji apple (omg love), and a crumbled up flavor and fiber bar! peach detox tea on the side because it's simply delicious, anddd i feel like my body could use a detox from this weekend.

cinnamon raisin flava! i used to get these all the time in high school and i loved them, so when i saw them at nugget it was an instinctive purchase!

nutrition facts! and did you know that you would have to eat 3 kashi tlc chewy granola bars to equal how much fiber is in this baby?! plus it's pretty low in calorie...only 130! eating 3 kashi bars would be 3 times 140...i don't feel like doing the math..but that's A LOT! the only downfall to these are that they're more pricey than kashi.

daily inspiration from my yogi tea! "our thoughts are forming the world." wow that's deep.

Then I went to class from 2-4, planned on working out, but I think I tweaked my back running the other day so I decided to go swim laps in our apartment complex’s pool! Swimming is the best exercise for those who have injuries…and it burns up calories in no time!

But first, I had a bite to eat.

stir fried veggies & quinoa in sesame oil and braggs liquid aminos.

Then it was swimmin time! I haven’t swam in soooo long, I’m ashamed. I’ve been on a swim team ever since I was 8, and literally lived in the water. It felt so good to get back into it! My wonderful and hilarious friend, Kirsten, joined me. We had a bit of a problem of chatting too much in between sets…but we’ll work on that ;).

some synchronize swimming caught on camera. lovesya creeper amy!

Moving on…

When I came home from class earlier, I tenderized some chicken (put it in a ziploc and hit it with the bottom of a frying pan..what poor college students do when they can’t afford a meat tenderizer), seasoned it with s&p, and marinated it for about 3 hours.

before mixing it all together.

Basil & Parmesan Marinade

inspired by How Sweet It Is

 

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, thawed

1/4 c olive oil

2 T balsamic vinegar

1 T dried basil

1 t dried mustard

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 T parmesan cheese (I used TJ’s shaved parmesan but any kind will work)

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together in a large ziploc bag and refrigerate for 2-24 hours. Once you’re ready to cook, preheat your oven to 350 and set a skillet coated in olive oil to medium heat and cook chicken for 3 minutes on each side. The chicken should not be completely cooked all the way through. Place chicken in an oven safe dish and bake for about 10 minutes, or until it is no longer pink on the inside.

half a chicken breast (holyyyy yumm) and some sauteed broccoli - with earth balance and s&p!

I later had an unpictured banana with almond butter as a study snack and now I’m sippin on some Good Earth tea! What a day of delicious and homemade eats!

Kisses,

Kara

 

 

9 responses »

  1. wait so funny….I use a pan to tenderize my meat too! Helpful poor college student tips from my mama!

    Reply
  2. Flavor and Fiber bars are yummy! And I need to get to swimming – it’d do my poor joints some good. :P

    Anyway, I wanted to let you know that I’ve moved to blogspot ( http://living-learning-eating.blogspot.com/ ) and I’d be really happy if you’d subscribe!

    Reply
  3. Elizabeth Lundeen

    Good for you for swimming! Love the synchronized swimming pic! The chicken recipe looks yummy, I will have to try it! I’m sitting in Heathrow airport reading your blog and cracking up!

    love you!!!!!!

    Reply
  4. love that quinoa! just found your blog; it is so cute! :) nice to meet u!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

