RSS Feed

my very first wiaw

Hey y’all!

Are you ready to see some pictchas of fooood?! Well good, because today is WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday)!

As I mentioned in my first blog entry, Blondie Bakes and Bikes is not solely a food blog. With that said, I definitely won’t be posting or taking pictures what I inhale consume every day. This will save you guys from boredom (remember I am a college student with not much time to whip up gourmet/exciting meals) and will also keep me sane…or from kicking myself over that second bowl of cookie dough ice cream ahhh ;).

Today I got up at 6:30 am, made my breakfast and packed a lunch for the loooong day ahead of me. I work in Sac-town so I have to leave the house by 7, get stuck in traffic for a while (so fun), and then finally sleepwalk into work at 8. Times that by 5 and you get my weekday routine this summer!

This fabulous morning I was feeling like…

EGGGGGGS!

2 scrambled eggs with mushrooms, bell peppers, salsa and feta cheese with some cinnamon raisin toast (from Trader Joe’s) and half a peach on the side!

The tummy was happy after that :).

Then around 10:30 she started talking to me. Good thing I packed a snack too!

feelin snacky

Half a pink lady apple (da bessttt) with cinnamon sprinkled on top! Alright here comes the nutritionist in me…

cinna-yum

Did you know that smelling cinnamon boosts cognitive function and memory? So down.

Cinnamon is a great source of manganese, fiber, iron, and calcium. I like!

Studies have shown that just 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon per day can lower LDL (bad) cholesterol. Wowzaa!

Preliminary lab and animals studies have found that cinnamon may have antibacterial and antifungal properties. It’s active against the fungus that causes yeast infections, and  the bacteria responsible for stomach ulcers. Good to know! 

Cinnamon is a metabolism-boosting spice that aids in getting rid of unwanted body fat. Ooooh go cinnamon!

Okay that was a nice little tangent (you’ll find I do that often) now onto lunch…

the bomb ingredients

A turkey sandwich on Oroweat Healthfull hearty wheat bread with avocado, TJ’s spicy brown mustard, cucumber, sprouts and spring mix/spinach with a side of grapes.

too bad they weren't frozen 😦 favorite

would you like some sandwich with your lettuce?!

I love mah greens…I know, I’m weird. But not as green obsessed as this one…

GIMME THE LETTUCE!!!

That would be Lily, our guinea pig. Isn’t she the cutest?!

Now onto the rest of today’s eats!

I left work at 5, got home at 6:30 (there was an accident..YAY MORE TRAFFIC!), fueled up on a Halo Pro Bar before hitting the gym with my sis…

couldn't resist this at whole foods...especially since it was ON SALE!

nutrition facts for yooouu. not too shabby!

Once I got home from workin out I made a quick (and easy!) dinner. I was really craving fish tacos (ahem…I’m always craving fish tacos) but I wasn’t about to go bbq in the dark. Soooo I made this instead!

a lazy girl's dinna

In the {greek} salad went chopped romaine, red cabbage, carrots, bell peps, feta, kalamata olives, with a cut up (cooked in the skillet ) Morningstar Farms Griller’s Original veggie burger on top! Those babies are only 130 calories with 15 g of protein…ohhh yeahhh! The dressing was a little bit of olive oil, red wine & balsamic vinegar, and pepper. Super satisfying and only took me 5 minutes!! That’s how I like it ;).

Annndddd that concludes WIAW! Hope you enjoyed it and had some delicious meals today as well!!

xoxoxo

Kara

4 responses »

  1. Omg LOVEEE this postttttttt! Ahhhhh! Dying of laughter at all of your comments after each of the cinnamon facts –wowza! good to know! hahahaa you crack me up. Anywayss this all looks bomb dot com! you have to tell me which one of those halo bars are the best! or are you going to review all of them?!?!? Love youuu! Ps. Loved seeing Lily on here!

    Reply
    • Heheheee..thanks best frann 🙂 yes yes! I’m planning on doing a review post for all of them once I try them all! I will for sure let you know!! So far s’mores was my favorite! Too much Lily lovin 🙂 xoxoxo

      Reply
  2. livinglearningeating

    I just posted my first WIAW too! It’s here: http://livinglearningeating.wordpress.com/2011/08/24/amateur-wiaw/

    Ice cream is the best, and kicking oneself is silly! 😛 I have to agree with you about the grapes though – they’re just not even *close* to as tasty when they’re not frozen.

    Reply
    • I am definitely going to check it out!! So excited to have found a new blogger too!

      Hehee…I know I don’t actually do that. Sometimes I just feel guilty after that extra bowl of ice cream 😉 something I need to work on!!

      I know right?! They are the bestttttttttt.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

