RSS Feed

WIAW!

Hello dollfacess.

Lately I’ve been having an overwhelming craving for fall-ish foods. You know what I mean. Pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin muffins, pumpkin cookies, pumpkin smoothies (sadly, I haven’t made/ate any of these besides the pumpkin spice latte which doesn’t count since it was made by a barista at Starbucks..) and apple pie! Totally ruined the pumpkin theme I know. P.S. a little fun fact for y’all: I actually don’t like pumpkin pie very much. Yes, I am a crazy person, but I do looove anything else that is pumpkin. It’s all about apple pie for this girl.

So this morning I decided to listen to my growling tummy and make something fall-ish! And healthy-ish!

Healthified Apple Crisp

{high in fiber, healthy fats & protein!}

serves 2

Ingredients:

1/3 c oats

~1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I used Sunwarrior)

2 TBS sugar (I used NuNaturals More Fiber Baking Blend)

Cinnamon

1/4 c coconut (optional)

1 apple, thinly sliced

2 TBS cold butter (I used Earth Balance)

1 TBS coconut oil

2 TBS nut butter (optional – I used pecan butter from the samples I received from Artisana!!)

Directions:

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Mix oats, protein powder, and sugar together in a small bowl. Add a couple generous shakes of cinnamon.

oat mixture minus the coconut

i used this! IT'S AWESOME! in 3/4 of a TBS there is 3 g of fiber!!

Add the butter, oil and nut butter to the dry ingredients. It should be crumbly.

before mixing..

Lay the apple slices in a small glass dish. Sprinkle on some more cinnamon! Then pour the oat mixture over the apples so that they are evenly covered.

i put half of the pecan butter on the apples, but i couldn't tell the difference, so to make it easier, i'd just mix it in with the dry ingredients! unless you wanna be a rebel.

yummerz

time for the oven!

Bake in the oven for…..I ACTUALLY DIDN’T KEEP TRACK OF THIS. I’M SO VERY SORRY…but I think it was around 15-20 minutes, just until the top looks golden brown and when you poke the apples they feel soft!

the finished product! dun dun dunnnn....hoping it's good!

OH IT WAS.

P.S. I had the plate above times two. Meaning I ate this entire thing. Ahem. Moving on….

lunch: egg white scramble with mushrooms, kale & salsaaa

For dinner, the roomies and I had a little potluck.

clockwise from the left: salmon, thai crunch salad (which i made), shirazi salad, & dressing for thai crunch salad

annnddd amy's homemade soup šŸ˜‰ so fall-ish.

elana's salmon was made in the oven set at 350 for 22 minutes. the marinade was delishhh: tj's soyaki, garlic powder, s&p!

thai crunch salad. recipe from the peas and thank you cookbook.

our beaaauutiful table setting. do you spy a flamingo?! i do...

date night with SAKE (shauna, amy, kara, elana)!

Soooooo satisfied.

Hope you had a lovely Wednesday!

Kara

One response »

  1. That apple crisp looks so good! Will definitely have to try next time I’m home!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

