RSS Feed

vegan eats

Hi babydolls!

Sorry I’ve been MIA for quite a while…the quarter just started Monday so I’ve been figuring out my classes and catching up with friends I haven’t seen in a whole month!

My vegan diet has been going well so far, I have completed a week plus two days now! Surprisingly finding things to eat has been easy, although I’ve had to get a little more creative and do some planning ahead of time.

When I was at home, my sister and mom had some delicious looking (and smelling!) cheesy pesto bread with their dinner and I would have loved a big bite of it, but I told myself that I couldn’t give in quite yet. I do reallllly really miss cheese and eggs, but I’ve had no cravings for meat so far!

As of now, my thoughts about this whole vegan ordeal is that I do not want to deprive my body of anything it craves. If after 2 weeks I’m craving cheese or eggs, I will allow my body some cheese and eggs! There’s no sense in torturing and depriving myself.

Now I’ll let ya guys in on what I’ve been eating lately ;).

sprouted whole wheat toast with ab & pb and fresh berries. my mouth is watering just looking at those berries right now! get in mah belly.

i tried an amy's indian spinach tofu wrap. it was perfect for a quick and delicious small meal!

portobello mushroom burger/sandwich with all the fixins and sauteed green beans with hazelnuts.

crocodile crunch from alicia silverstone's "the kind diet." 1 t spirulina, ~3/4 T almond milk, ~3/4 T orange juice, ~3/4 T maple syrup, 1 t almond butter. mix sauce and pour over fresh fruit and coconut. top with kamut puffs, granola or whatever cereal you like! beware: this looks gross (I mean it issss green) but it's actually DELICIOUS and may turn your teeth temporarily green hehe.

sauteed vegetables, tempeh, and lentil & bean mix.

butternut squash and vegetable curry over brown rice and topped with coconut and roasted almonds & cashews (in bragg liquid aminos)

the. best. pancakes. EVER. (recipe coming soon!)

quinoa bowl with veggies, salsa and cilantro jalapeno hummus (found at TJs).

kale, tempeh and wild rice!

green beans and asparagus over brown rice with Mama Pea's "mmm" sauce drizzled on top!

snacky dinner! butternut squash soup, veggies & crackers (Marys crackers and Flackers) to dip in hummus and salsa. and a sliced apple!

So there ya have it! Not exactly everything I’ve been eating lately, but a summary! Today, I had a delicious falafel pita sandwich with cucumbers, lettuce, tomato, hummus and tahini sauce from a Mediterranean cafe. I’m determined to recreate it. And tonight I think I’ll make some overnight oats for tomorrow’s breakfast! Mmmm.

Hope you all had a fabulous week!

xoxo,

Kara

13 responses »

  1. omg Kareee these pics have made me SOO HUNGRY!! I especially love all the green beans (please show me how to make that omg) and the snack dinner….STORY OF MY LIFE!!! love you and miss you ❤ good luck with the veganism!

    Reply
  2. Your eats all look awesome – can’t believe they’re vegan! I can’t wait for the pancake recipe.

    Reply
  3. Elizabeth Lundeen

    You are inspiring Kristin and I to join you! Everything looks and tastes so pretty! xoxoxo

    Reply
  4. Nom nom nom. I bet those berries tasted AMAZING! 😀

    Reply
  5. All your food looks delicious 🙂

    Reply
  6. mmmm isnt amys spinach tofu wrap so good!? I lovve that one 🙂

    Reply
  7. oooo what’s on top of those pancakes?
    good luck with the quarter 🙂

    Reply
  8. You’re doing reallllly well! I became a vegetarian 4 years ago and now I pretty much eat vegan (I have some goat cheese etc now and again) but right now I’m on a cleanse that cuts out all dairy, sweeteners and gluten products so it’s a bit tougher.

    I think becoming vegetarian first and then vegan helped a bunch because the meat issue is already taken care of so the fact that you did it all at once is super impressive. Keep it going! And yes, Amy’s is an amazing help! haha (I LOVE their burritos :))

    Reply
  9. Congrats on being a vegan, girl! 🙂
    You’ll find it to be a GREAT lifestyle!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

